Skip to content

Top 10 Best Selling Gardening Books

September 22, 2013

the drunken botanist

So here’s the UNgardening spin on the top 10 Best Selling Gardening Books!  Remember this blog has a gardening theory that you do quick work of little time.  Our time these days is too valuable.  So this list will all be Best Sellers from www.Amazon.com.  BUT I have cleaned the list up a bit so as to take into consideration topics that will save you both time and money.

1) The first book on my list is The Drunken Botanist.  It’s not going to be for any reason you might immediately come to… it’s because my husband has taken to making wine at home.  We now spend a few dollars per bottle of homemade wine that sometimes has a very high alcohol content!  Yum!  Less money AND more alcohol?  I’m sorry, but to an UNgardener that’s a double win!  He has done a superb Virginia Beach Strawberry Wine, and is now tinkering with apples that I picked up last time I was up in Adams County, PA by the cabin.  Some 50% of the land in Adams County is farm land so we can acquire a lot of high quality produce while we are up there.  Wine will be a quarterly venture for us now.  (Back to the book…) The first part of this book is a dissertation in alphabetical fashion of plants that can be fermented into wine, cider, beer, or hard alcohol.  Now just sit back and figure how much you spent last month in wine or beer… go on, buy this book!

2) Rosemary Gladstar’s Medicinal Herbs is book number 2.  And it should be clear why this one is both a Best Seller AND a great UNgardener book.  Medical care isn’t cheap, right?  So, if you can even do a small portion of it yourself you will save oodles of cash.  I know my medical has changed in the last year due to Obamacare.  Hasn’t yours?  This book will show you how to set up your own medical arsenal of herbs.  Brilliant idea!

3) Mini-Farming: Self-Sufficiency on 1/4 acre is quite simply THE book to buy if you want to lower your grocery bill and lead a more green life style.  The first sentence in the introduction of this book states that home food production is an important skill if you want to lead a more physically and financially healthy life.

4)  Marijuana Horticulture:  The Indoor/Outdoor Medical Grower’s Bible.  Number four could be controversial, but sticking strictly to my criteria of being a Best Seller on Amazon as well as a good UNgardening book I couldn’t leave it out!  Think of how much curing Cancer from your body and soul could save you?!  I’ll leave it at that.

5) Vegetable Literacy:  Cooking and Gardening with Twelve Families from the Edible Plant Kingdom.  In the last year I have begun to juice vegetables as frequently as possible.  I don’t always fast, sometimes I just supplement my normal meals in order to get all the servings of vegetables and fruits that I need each day.  But one thing I noticed is that Americans don’t tend to understand the vegetable stand at the grocery store!  Knowledge is worth its weight in gold if you can both understand what vegetables you need AND what to do with them once you’ve purchased them!  Get juicing with THIS book!

6) Carrots Love Tomatoes.  All plants have best friends or companion plants.  They are those plants that are good for each other’s soul.  I’m sure you’d like to know which plants nourish the soil, which keep away bugs and pests, and which plants just don’t like each other.  This book is a complete guide to using companion planting to grow a more profitable garden.

7)  All New Square Foot Gardening.  This book describes a trend of raised bed gardening where you simplify the gardening process.  Yes, this one amplifies the UNgardening ways immensely!  I will have an entire post on this process shortly!  Stay TUNED!!

8) Seed to Seed:  Seed Saving and Growing Techniques for Vegetable Gardeners.  This is a great book that is clear about what it will save you.  I personally love learning new processes that will teach me to do something brand new that would ordinarily have confused me or seemed overwhelming.  Seeds are currently a stressor in my life.  So I will be reading this book too!

9) Four-Season Harvest: Vegetables from your Home Garden All Year Long.  Really???  You mean I can grow vegetables in winter???  I’m IN!!!  No really… I’m working on it… but I’m still perfecting my summer harvest which this year was nil… since I was actually NOT home for July and august… So maybe I’d actually do better in the other three months since those are the months I stay put.  This book will be my code towards a rooky off season harvest.

10) Let it Rot! The Gardener’s Guide to Composting.  For the final area of savings, let’s consider the DIRT and TRASH!  I know, right?  How can those two things save us money?  Well, if you put less trash out by putting composting’s into a compost bin out back you will make nutrient rich soil for next season’s bounty as well as become more of a green human being.  Again, a double WIN!  It IS a process though that needs a little studying.  You need an understanding of what is green versus brown waste.

After raking season will come the relaxed winter season where you can read up on new ideas for next Spring.  I’m betting one of these books will bring you huge cost savings in your yard and hopefully some time savings as well.  And now I’m going to share with you my little book purchasing secret… while I do love amazon.com, it’s a good idea to get to know other used book websites.  My personal favorite is www.alibris.com.  I once bought a small library of wine books for $75.  I am still working my way through that library loving every one I pick up.  I’m betting you can find these gardening books for pennies on the dollar there as well.  A good portion of them mentioned being in a second edition or more.  Do less, spend less, and reap more!!

Happy Reading!

Cheers!

The UNgardener

From → 3 Enjoy

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RockNRollHomeSchoolMom

Homeschooling with an emphasis on family, academics and RocknRoll.

Resume Of A Mother

The Layers of Motherhood

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Livonia Homeschool

Come along with us on an adventure in education!

Bantu Wellness

Everything for Natural Family

maternaltouch

Just another WordPress.com site

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

A Working Student

You don't get anywhere without a little bit of elbow grease.

Suzanne Shares

Some Things Are Too Good to Keep to Myself

Eternal Life Academy

Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent. John 17:3

Ivy League Homeschooling

A Forum for Homeschooling Families seeking Academic Excellence

Home Front Girl

A Diary of Love, Literature, and Growing Up in Wartime America

Tibet, Activism And Information

Digital Action For A Free Tibet And Human Rights

