Skip to content

What is a farmer? What is a gardener? What is an UNgardener?

January 22, 2013

WP_000202So, you want to have a beautiful garden, but can’t imagine calling yourself a gardener?  I have the same problem!  UNgardener seems to suit me much better!  Don’t get me wrong, I love to dig in the dirt and watch my seeds become colorful and edible plants.  I just don’t enjoy the “work” part enough to spend a lot of time in my yard.  Plus, my yard is small.  If I were to imagine calling myself a gardener (or farmer) I would also imagine myself standing amidst towering apple trees, a vineyard, and rolling grassy hills spilling over with lilies that I planted one at a time.  That, to me, is a gardener!  A farmer stands on a huge rectangle of land parceled out line by line with varying edibles.  She has dirt in her fingernails so permanently that it is more of a sign of arrival at gardening perfection.  Neither of these people define me.  And so, here I am re-defining myself, the UNgardener.  I aspire to be great at what I do, but I humbly admit that with only 30 minutes a day in the yard, I cannot do as much as them.  And that’s ok.

I have never been much of a glass-is-half-empty kind of girl though, so I started putting on my gardening gloves when I became a homeowner in 2006.  It was the first time I ever took interest in the subject, but I fell in love with the process quite instantly.  I realized how much I had to learn and threw myself into it.  Which as an Engineer, is just how I always do new things.  I realized if I could learn just one new thing each day, there was a LOT that I can do, and that will be what makes my yard, my paradise.  It’s amazing how great my spaces can look with just the smallest of time investment.  I will show you.  There will be flowers in every color, along side fruits, vegetables, and herbs.   I will sip my wine (and you will come to learn how much I also love wine) watching my children laughing while playing in their sandbox or pirate play place.

An UNgardener is someone, like me, who loves to beautify her space, loves to have warm tomatoes freshly picked off the vine, and even aspires to grow grapes to add to her husband’s next batch of homemade wine.  More than anything though, an UNgardener is anyone who simply aspires to plan, create, and enjoy their outdoor spaces.  Much like Thomas Jefferson, who said “we have the right to the “pursuit” of happiness”, I am of the belief that happiness in the garden lies more in the “pursuit” of growth rather than specifically in the growth itself.  If I were wrong I would find no joy in pulling out my UNgardener Binder in January to plan for the upcoming year.

Happy UNGardening Planning Month to all!

Cheers!

The UNgardener

From → 1 Plan

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RockNRollHomeSchoolMom

Homeschooling with an emphasis on family, academics and RocknRoll.

Resume Of A Mother

The Layers of Motherhood

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Livonia Homeschool

Come along with us on an adventure in education!

Bantu Wellness

Everything for Natural Family

maternaltouch

Just another WordPress.com site

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

A Working Student

You don't get anywhere without a little bit of elbow grease.

Suzanne Shares

Some Things Are Too Good to Keep to Myself

Eternal Life Academy

Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent. John 17:3

Ivy League Homeschooling

A Forum for Homeschooling Families seeking Academic Excellence

Home Front Girl

A Diary of Love, Literature, and Growing Up in Wartime America

Tibet, Activism And Information

Digital Action For A Free Tibet And Human Rights

summerislandstorm

The first book in the Summer Island Series: Searching the Storm By Melinda Martin Knysz

